Frequently Asked Questions
How do I get the vehicle?
You can hire your own driver, or use a broker off our website. Either way, Sur is not responsible for shipping or storing or anything that happens once the vehicle leaves our possession. We provide shipper information as a convenience only, and are not affiliated with the shippers.
Is the deposit refundable?
No. The deposit is non-refundable and non-transferable.
Is there any warranty on the motor or transmission?
There is no warranty or guarantee of any kind on any vehicle, truck or suv. Everything is sold as is, and it is your responsibility to inspect the vehicle or have it inspected prior to purchase.
What is the repair estimate on the vehicle?
We do not have repair estimates and/or inSurance damage reports on any vehicle. It is your responsibility to research those issues, and inspect or have the vehicle inspected prior to purchase.
Is shipping included in the price?
Shipping is not included in the purchase price. Sur provides shipper information as a courtesy, but is not affiliated with any shipper, and is not responsible for any vehicle once it leaves Sur's possession.
What are acceptable methods for final payment?
Cash, cashier's check, and wire transfer.
Can I get more pictures?
We do not offer this service but you are more than welcome to inspect the vehicle monday through friday from 8 to 5 or saturday 8-1, closed all holidays. If the vehicle is in California, it is not necessarily at our gardenia facility. It may be in other storage facilities. Please confirm location.
What type of damage has the vehicle sustained?
Sur Motor Cars makes no inquiry into damage, nor any representations as to damage. Please refer to the photos, that's why we have provided them. To understand the true nature of the damage, it is your responsibility to inspect or send an inspector to view the vehicle.
What is the process for purchasing a vehicle?
A $1000 dollar deposit or 10 percent (whichever is greater) is required to hold the vehicle for 5 days (including weekends). In that time period the vehicle must be paid for in full by wire transfer or cash, in person, by appointment only.
** California residents are required to pay all taxes on the purchase.
Can I inspect the vehicle myself, or have a mechanic/inspector inspect the vehicle?
Yes. You are more than welcome to inspect or hire an inspector to inspect the vehicle. In fact, it is your responsibility to inspect the vehicle prior to purchase. You may do so during normal business hours. Please confirm the location of the vehicle prior to doing so.
Which airport are you near?
We are within 30 minutes of Los Angeles International Airport. We are also near the Long Beach Airport.
Can I test drive the vehicle?
If the vehicle is not damaged, is fully repaired, and has a rebuilt title, then yes. If not, California law prohibits us from allowing any customer to drive a damaged, unregistered vehicle.
What does non-repairable mean?
Sur Motor Cars makes no representations or warranties regarding the repairability of any vehicle, or whether or not any vehicle can be licensed or titled. It is the buyer's responsibility to inspect or have the vehicle inspected prior to purchase. It is also the buyer's responsibility to research the titling laws and regulations in his or her state and/or the state in which it will be registered prior to purchase.
Why does the web-site state 'make an offer' when the pricing is firm?
Our prices are firm and we generally do not negotiate on price, but we may consider an offer close to the asking price.
What does 'inop' or 'inoperable' mean?
It means the vehicle does not have a key and cannot be started, or may have a key but is not programmed so there is no way to start or test the vehicle.
Can I pay with a check?
We do not accept personal checks, we do accept certified checks but we cannot release the vehicle or the title until 15 business days after receipt. It takes that long for our banker to clear the check.
Why do some vehicles say 'missing wheels'?
This means that either the vehicle is missing a wheel(s), or a wheel or more is so damaged it is considered 'scrap'.
Does the vehicle have frame damage?
We are not a body shop and do not make a determination as to unibody or frame damage. It is the buyer's responsibility to inspect or have the vehicle inspected prior to purchase. You are more than welcome to inspect the vehicle during normal business hours. Please confirm the location of the vehicle prior to doing so.
Can I purchase the entire vehicle on my credit card?
No. It is company policy to only accept the deposit by credit card and is non-negotiable.
Does Sur Motor Cars finance any purchase?
How many days do I have to pick up my purchased vehicle?
Based on what storage facility the vehicle is located in, the following applies:
** If the vehicle is located in California you get 5 free days of storage and then the storage fee is $10/day beginning on the 6th day.**
** If the vehicle is located in Utah you get 10 free days of storage and then the storage fee is $5/day beginning on the 11th day.**
Why are wires and belts cut on the vehicle where damage occurred?
Sur Motor Cars makes no representations or warranties regarding the condition of any vehicle, and has no information pertaining to the vehicle's' damage. We do not guarantee belts or wiring, or any other part of the vehicle. It is the buyer's responsibility to inspect or have the vehicle inspected prior to purchase.
What does 'lot drives' mean?
It means the vehicle is damaged and can be driven onto a transport truck or trailer, but not test driven or street driven. It is not a reflection of the vehicle's condition, or ability to be titled. Sur makes no representations or warranties regarding the condition of any vehicle, it is the buyer's responsibility to inspect or have the vehicle inspected prior to purchase.
Why doesn't Sur Motor Cars give the title to the transport company?
For security reasons. Once the vehicle leaves Sur Motor Cars possession, Sur Motor Cars is no longer responsible for it. We send the title to the address listed on the contract.
Why must I sign page three of the contract (notice of salvage certificate or branded title) if the vehicle I am purchasing has a 'clean title'?
Even if the vehicle has a clean title, it has been in some type of collision or otherwise damaged and could have a salvage history.
What are the pick-up times at your California and Utah locations?
CA : M-F 8am to 4:30pm
Sat 8am -12pm
UT : M-F 8am to 3:45pm
No saturday pick up
Please confirm the location of the vehicle prior to pick-up.
If I am a California resident, why can't I receive title to the vehicle I am purchasing?
Sur Motor Cars purchases damaged vehicles from salvage auctions, the state of California requires the vehicle be sold with an 'acquisition bill of sale'. See below for information on obtaining a title in California.
Why won't Sur Motor Cars accept an ACH transfer?
An ACH can be reversed by the buyer at anytime, a wire transfer cannot.
Why has the receipt of my title been delayed?
There is no way for Sur Motor Cars to know why receipt of your title has been delayed without knowing the exact circumstance. It could be a dmv processing issue, or we could be waiting for it from an auction, or other unforeseen delays out of Sur's control.
Why can't I wear sandals, or open-toed shoes, and why do I have to wear a vest on the Sur Motor Cars showroom?
Safety reasons and California and Utah law.
What do "TMU" and "miles not actual" mean?
Some vehicles come without a key and/or battery so miles are unknown. If the miles appear later, those are the miles on the vehicle, but will still show tmu on title.
Can I place additional parts/object in the car while it's still on the Sur Motor Cars lot?
Yes, but Sur Motor Cars is not responsible for any lost or stolen items.
Why do I have to pay a document fee?
This fee is to cover administrative and office costs for processing applications and the numerous other documents. The fees are $150 for out of state buyers, and $90 for California buyers.
Does Sur Motor Cars sell parts?
Why can't Sur Motor Cars send my Acquisition Bill of Sale to a P.O. Box?
Because the Acquisition Bill of Sale is sent by federal express and requires an adult signature upon receipt.
Why isn't my car ready for pick-up the same day as it is paid-in-full?
There are several reasons why this might be the case. Among the reasons, some vehicles are in transit and not yet on the lot, some have missing keys or other items that need be resolved prior to pick-up.
In California, why can't I buy a Passat, Jetta, Golf, Beetle, Sportwagon or Audi A3 - manufactured from 2009 to 2015?
According to the environmental protection agency and California air resources board, VW circumvented federal emissions requirements for some 482,000 of its diesel cars - including the Passat, Jetta, Golf, Beetle, Sportwagons and Audi A3 - manufactured from 2009 to 2015. The models contain a "defeat device" which exists to detect when the car is under testing conditions, allowing for it to activate the full emissions-control systems only in those circumstances.
1. INCORPORATED BY THIS REFERENCE, ALL CUSTOMERS AGREE TO THE TERMS OF SERVICE, TERMS AND CONDITIONS, ON BOTH GETWWA.COM & GETSMC.COM
2. ALL SALES ARE FINAL, ALL DEPOSITS ARE NON-REFUNDABLE AND NON-TRANSFERABLE.
3. IF A CUSTOMER CANCELS OR FAILS TO COMPLETE THE PURCHASE, THE DEPOSIT WILL BE LOST.
4. ALL TRANSPORTATION PRICES GIVEN ARE ESTIMATED PRICES. BUYERS WILL NEED TO CONFIRM SPECIFIC PRICING WITH THE TRANSPORTATION COMPANY.
5. ALL CALIFORNIA BUYERS WILL RECEIVE AN ACQUISITION BILL OF SALE, UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED.
6. ALL CALIFORNIA BUYERS ARE REQUIRED TO PAY CALIFORNIA SALES TAX.
7. IF VEHICLE LOCATION SAYS CALIFORNIA - THAT MAY MEAN STORAGE ONLY, AND THAT MEANS THE VEHICLE IS LOCATED AT ONE OF MANY STORAGE FACILITIES SUR MOTOR CARS USES IN CALIFORNIA. PLEASE CONFIRM THE LOCATION OF THE VEHICLE.
8. ALL CALIFORNIA RESIDENTS PURCHASE VEHICLES THROUGH SUR MOTOR CARS INC., WHICH IS A LICENSED AND REGISTERED DISMANTLER.
California Buyers - How to register an Acquisition Bill Of Sale
*These are general guidelines. Consult your local DMV for specific requirements.
Take bill of sale (Acquisition bill of sale) to DMV.
You receive a moving permit and then must receive:
- A smog check
- A brake and lamp inspection
- A VIN# inspection done at DMV or CHP
- If the vehicle is a truck, you must get it weighed
When completed, the DMV will give you new plates and tags then send you
a new title, which will be a salvage title, in about 3 to 6 weeks.
****** Please note that purchasers in California will not receive a title to any vehicle purchased. Buyers receive an ACQUISIITION BILL OF SALE. That is because the vehicle was purchased at a salvage auction, and Sur Motor Cars, Inc. is a dismantler. Sur Motor Cars makes no representations or warranties as to whether vehicle is operable, or can be registered at a later date. It is the buyer's responsibility to inspect the vehicle or have the vehicle inspected prior to purchase. It is also the buyer's responsibility to determine the vehicle's history, and what can be done with the ACQUISITION BILL OF SALE.